You are located in service: RWTHmoodle

Change permissions for students

Change permissions for students

information

Managers can override certain permissions by students:

  • Viewing the list of participants
  • Viewing the contact details of their own group members in groups up to a maximum of 10 people (except for LV groups synchronized from RWTHonline).

The permissions are withdrawn or granted via the list of participants.


To adjust the permissions for students, proceed as follows:

  1. Click on More in the center menu and select Change permissions for tutors or students.
    Selecting "Change permissions for tutors or students"in the center menu
  2. In the Select role(s) drop-down menu, select the roles Students and other participants.
  3. In the dropdown menu Choose role(s), choose Students and Extra users.
  4. Deselect one or both of the options Show list of participants or View data of group members respectively.
    Permissions for role students
      

     

    Note

    If the option Show participant list is deactivated, students will not be able to see the contact information of the other group members, even if the checkbox next to the option View data of group members is set. If students are to be shown the names and email addresses of the other group members, it is therefore imperative that both checkboxes are ticked. Since displaying the participant list is a necessary prerequisite for being able to show contact data to the other group members at all, a deactivated checkbox inevitably leads to all participant information being completely hidden from the course participants, regardless of whether the checkmark next to View data of group members is set or not.
  5. Apply the adjustments with Save changes.

Additional information:

last changed on 08/06/2026

How did this content help you?

GNU General Public License 3 (opens in new tab)
This work is licensed under a GNU General Public License (opens in new tab)