You are located in service:Backup & Restore

General information

Backup & Restore

Kurzinformation

 

Be aware

The date for switching the previous IBM infrastructure to "Read Only" has been moved back from 30.11.2022 to 17.01.2023. From this time onwards, only the new backup solution and infrastructure will be available for backing up your IT.

The IT Center offers a backup and restore service. The institutes using this service have the possibility to save versions of local computer systems and servers of the institutes on the backup servers of the IT Center and restore them if necessary.

The data of a computer is saved in a tape library. To be able to do this a client software (Tivoli Storage Manager) will be installed on the computer that transfers the data periodically and automatically.

Making use of this service guarantees that computer malfunctions, accidentally deleting or overwriting, software errors, etc do not lead to the loss of scientific data. In those cases the restore service makes a reliable and quick restoration of data possible.

Sie befinden sich im Service:Backup & Restore

Allgemeine Infos

Backup & Restore

Kurzinformation

 

Bitte beachten Sie

Ab dem 30. November 2022 wird die bisherige IBM-Infrastruktur auf „Read Only“ umgeschaltet, sodass ab diesem Zeitpunkt nur noch die neue Backup-Lösung und -Infrastruktur für die Sicherung Ihrer IT zur Verfügung steht.

Das IT Center bietet mit dem Dienst „Backup/Restore“ allen nutzenden Einrichtungen die Möglichkeit, lokale Rechnersysteme und Server in den Instituten auf den Backup-Servern im IT Center versioniert zu sichern und bei Bedarf wiederherzustellen.

Die Daten eines Rechners werden in einem Bandarchiv gesichert. Dazu wird auf dem zu sichernden Rechner eine Client-Software installiert (Tivoli Storage Manager), die periodisch und automatisiert die Übertragung der Daten durchführt.

Die Teilnahme an diesem Service stellt sicher, dass Defekte an Rechnern, versehentliches Löschen/Überschreiben, Software-Fehler usw. nicht zum Verlust wissenschaftlicher Daten führen. Der Restore-Dienst erlaubt in solchen Fällen eine verlässliche und schnelle Wiederherstellung der Daten.