Commvault offers the possibility to retire a client and, if necessary, to delete it afterwards. Learn here which steps you need to follow in order to do this.
- Go to the location where the client is located.
- Click the action button for the client you want to remove, and then click "Retire".
- Confirm the removal of the client by clicking "Yes".
- If there is no backed up data for the client, the license for the client will be released. If the client is available on the network, the system also uninstalls the Commvault software on the client.
- If there is backed up data for the client, you must perform the following steps to delete the client from the database:
- For the client you want to delete, click the action button and then click "Delete".
- The "Confirm delete client" dialog box appears.
- Click "Yes".
- The license for the client is released. If the client is available on the network, the system also uninstalls the Commvault software on the client. In addition, the client or agent is permanently deleted from the database.
With the Retire Option, the retention periods continue to be maintained. This has the advantage that data located on a system that is out of service and no longer performs backups is retained for half a year. After this retention period expires, the knot is automatically deleted.