Archive a project
GitLab projects that are no longer actively used but need to be available for read access can be archived.
Only project owners and administrators have permission to archive a project. Once a project is archived, the repository, packages, issues, merge requests, and all other functions are read-only.
Archived projects are hidden in the project lists. To show them, this option must be explicitly enabled:
To archive a project, you can proceed as follows:
- Open the settings in the project settings under General.
- Now under Advanced select the setting "Expand".
- Here you will find the item "Archive project". There you can archive the project. You will be asked whether you really want to archive the project.
- After that the project is archived. In the project view and in the personal view you will now find indications that the project is archived:
To unarchive a project, proceed in the same way as for archiving.
Only under point 3 "Unarchive Project" is selected.