You are located in service:temp-Moodle

General information

Quick links:

temp-Moodle

Kurzinformation

In order to ensure the smooth running of the online remote examinations for the 2021 summer semester, a second, temporary Moodle platform has been set up at RWTH: temp-Moodle. The platform will be used for the online remote examinations in two formats:

  1. Online remote exam with Dynexite and temp-Moodle.
  2. Online remote exam with temp-Moodle

Exam format 1 is recommended by IT Center and CLS, but exam format 2 remains possible as an alternative. Both formats are requested and approved in RWTHonline in the form of a "virtual" room booking. Please read the RWTHonline manual "Online-Fernprüfung eintragen" for more information. Details on the two formats can be found below.

Temp-Moodle has been set up for examination operation in the summer semester 2021 and will therefore not be affected by any peak loads in RWTHmoodle during regular teaching operations. The operation of temp-Moodle is largely similar to the operation of RWTHmoodle. Please note, however, that many functionalities that are not needed to conduct online distance examinations have been deactivated.

The instructions gathered here primarily deal with examination format 2. However, some instructions such as "Adding exam participants to the exam room" also apply to examination format 1, as they deal with steps that are necessary for the dissemination of information relevant to the examination.


 Detailinformation

1. Exam format 1: Remote exam with Dynexite and temp-Moodle

1.1. Dynexite

Dynexite is the e-examination system of RWTH Aachen University. It offers both (partially) automatically correctable and open types of tasks (e.g. free text). Since the end of the winter semester 2020/21, Dynexite has supported scanning tasks, where tasks solved on paper can be uploaded easily by students via smartphone. The upload of any files will also be offered from the summer semester 2021 onwards. The entire examination process will be digitally mapped in Dynexite, so that correction, post-exam review and re-correction can be carried out conveniently online in one system.

Detailed information on Dynexite can be found in the Dynexite documentation (German only).

When using Dynexite, there are no technical restrictions on the number of simultaneous online distance examinations. eExams created with Dynexite in the summer semester 2021 can be held again under supervision in the ZuseLab from the winter semester onwards. From the summer semester 2022 onwards, the scanning function will probably also be available for face-to-face examinations, so that electronic and paper-based content can also be examined here. In addition to the ZuseLab, further room capacities are currently being created and hardware is being developed.

 

1.2. temp-Moodle

In order to provide students with a single point of contact for organisational information on the exam, such as Zoom links and cohort assignments, a Dynexite booking is always combined with the booking of an exam room on temp-Moodle. This relieves RWTHmoodle and keeps it available for parallel learning purposes.

Additional information stored on temp-Moodle (Zoom links, cohort assignments, etc.) should be published in advance in accordance with the CLS handouts in order to avoid retrieval immediately before the exam and the associated peak loads on temp-Moodle. The examination questions themselves are always implemented directly in Dynexite and should not be made available via temp-Moodle.

 

2. Exam format 2: Remote exam with temp-Moodle

If conducting examinations with Dynexite is not an option for you at the moment, temp-Moodle will be available again as a transitional alternative in the summer semester 2021. However, should it become necessary to conduct online remote examinations again in the course of the Corona pandemic in the coming semesters, these will be conducted across the board with the new scanning option in Dynexite.

Temp-Moodle has proven itself in the winter semester 2020/21 for pure scanning exams, in which students create PDF scans of their hand-written exam with their smartphone and upload them to temp-Moodle with other files if necessary. This option can be used again in the summer semester 2021 as an alternative to the scan option in Dynexite. By outsourcing the online remote examinations to temp-Moodle, the capacities of RWTHmoodle are not burdened and are fully available for learning purposes.

You can request an examination room in temp-Moodle in RWTHonline for the preparation and administration of the online remote examination. You add the participants of the examination into this room via mass import, store all the information required for the examination and create the task activity with which the actual examination is processed. All information required on the day of the examination, such as Zoom links for the cheating control and IDs for identification, should be made available in advance. Examination questions should also be made available in advance as an encrypted PDF. This guarantees access to the information and the examination questions and avoids peak loads.

Temp-Moodle supports exam scenarios with up to 750 people in parallel. To avoid problems caused by peak loads, exams with a higher number of candidates should be divided into cohorts that start with a time offset of 10 to 15 minutes.

Detailed instructions on exam handling with temp-Moodle can be reached via the navigation for IT Centre Help on the left.


 Zusatzinformation

Further information:

Sie befinden sich im Service:temp-Moodle

Allgemeine Infos

Direktlinks:

temp-Moodle

Kurzinformation

Um den reibungslosen Ablauf der Online-Fernprüfungen des Sommersemesters 2021 sicherzustellen, wurde eine zweite, temporäre Moodle-Plattform an der RWTH eingerichtet: temp-Moodle. Die Plattform wird im Rahmen der Online-Fernprüfungen in zwei Formaten eingesetzt:

  1. Online-Fernprüfung mit Dynexite und temp-Moodle
  2. Online-Fernprüfung mit temp-Moodle

Prüfungsformat 1 wird von IT Center und CLS empfohlen, Prüfungsformat 2 bleibt aber als Alternative möglich. Beide Formate werden in RWTHonline in Form einer "virtuellen" Raumbuchung beantragt und genehmigt. Lesen Sie dazu die RWTHonline-Anleitung Online-Fernprüfung eintragen. Details zu den beiden Formaten finden Sie unten.

Temp-Moodle wurde für den Prüfungsbetrieb des Sommersemesters 2021 eingerichtet und wird somit nicht von etwaigen Lastspitzen in RWTHmoodle während des regulären Lehrbetriebs beeinflusst. Die Bedienung von temp-Moodle gleicht größtenteils der Bedienung von RWTHmoodle. Bitte beachten Sie jedoch, dass viele Funktionalitäten, die nicht zur Durchführung von Online-Fernprüfungen benötigt werden, deaktiviert wurden.

Die hier versammelten Anleitungen behandeln primär das Prüfungsformat 2. Einige Anleitungen wie "Prüfungsteilnehmer/innen in den Prüfungsraum buchen" gelten jedoch auch für das Prüfungsformat 1, da sie Schritte behandeln, die für die Verbreitung prüfungsrelevanter Informationen notwendig sind.


 Detailinformation

1. Prüfungsformat 1: Online-Fernprüfung mit Dynexite und temp-Moodle

1.1. Dynexite

Dynexite ist das ePrüfungssystem der RWTH Aachen. Es bietet sowohl (teil-)automatisch korrigierbare als auch offene Aufgabentypen (z.B. Freitext). Seit Ende des Wintersemesters 2020/21 unterstützt Dynexite auch Scan-Aufgaben, bei denen auf Papier gelöste Aufgabenstellungen von den Studierenden schnell und einfach per Smartphone hochgeladen werden können. Auch der Upload beliebiger Dateien wird ab dem Sommersemester 2021 angeboten. Alle Bearbeitungsschritte erfolgen in einem System, sodass bei der Korrektur kein manuelles Zusammenfügen von Klausurbestandteilen erforderlich ist. Darüber hinaus wird der komplette Prüfungsprozess digital in Dynexite abgebildet, sodass auch Korrektur, Einsicht und Nachkorrektur komfortabel online in einem System durchgeführt werden können.

Ausführliche Informationen zu Dynexite finden Sie in der Dokumentation zu Dynexite.

Bei Einsatz von Dynexite gibt es keine technischen Beschränkungen für die Zahl gleichzeitig stattfindender Online-Fernprüfungen. Im Sommersemester 2021 mit Dynexite erstellte ePrüfungen können ab Wintersemester wieder unter Aufsicht im ZuseLab abgehalten werden. Ab Sommersemester 2022 steht voraussichtlich auch die Scanfunktion in Präsenzklausuren zur Verfügung, so dass auch hier elektronische und papierbasierte Inhalte gemischt geprüft werden können. Dazu werden neben dem ZuseLab zurzeit weitere Raumkapazitäten geschaffen und Hardware entwickelt.

 

1.2. temp-Moodle

Um den Studierenden eine einheitliche Anlaufstelle für organisatorische Informationen zur Klausur wie etwa Zoom-Links und Kohortenzuweisungen zu bieten, wird eine Buchung von Dynexite stets mit der Buchung eines Prüfungsraums auf temp-Moodle kombiniert. Dadurch wird RWTHmoodle entlastet und bleibt für parallel stattfindende Lernaufgaben verfügbar.

Auf temp-Moodle hinterlegte Zusatzinformationen (Zoom-Links, Kohortenzuweisungen, etc.) sollten gemäß den Handreichungen des CLS vorab veröffentlicht werden, um einen Abruf unmittelbar vor der Klausur und damit verbundene Lastspitzen auf temp-Moodle zu vermeiden. Die Aufgabenstellungen selbst werden stets direkt in Dynexite implementiert und sollten nicht über temp-Moodle zur Verfügung gestellt werden.

 

2. Prüfungsformat 2: Online-Fernprüfung mit temp-Moodle

Falls die Prüfungsdurchführung mit Dynexite für Sie derzeit nicht infrage kommt, steht im Sommersemester 2021 temp-Moodle noch einmal übergangsweise als Alternative zur Verfügung. Sollte es im Zuge der Corona-Pandemie in den kommenden Semestern erneut nötig werden, Online-Fernprüfungen durchzuführen, sollen diese jedoch flächendeckend mit der neuen Scanoption in Dynexite durchgeführt werden.

Temp-Moodle hat sich im Wintersemester 2020/21 für reine Scan-Klausuren bewährt, bei denen die Studierenden mit ihrem Smartphone PDF-Scans ihrer Klausur erzeugen und diese ggf. mit weiteren Dateien nach temp-Moodle hochladen. Diese Option kann im Sommersemester 2021 alternativ zur Scan-Option mit Dynexite erneut genutzt werden. Durch die Auslagerung der Online-Fernprüfungen auf temp-Moodle werden die Kapazitäten von RWTHmoodle nicht belastet und stehen vollständig für Lernzwecke zur Verfügung.

Für die Vorbereitung und die Durchführung der Online-Fernprüfung können Sie in RWTHonline einen Prüfungsraum in temp-Moodle beantragen. In diesen buchen Sie per Massenimport die Teilnehmerinnen und Teilnehmer der Prüfung ein, hinterlegen alle für die Prüfung nötigen Informationen und erstellen die Aufgaben-Aktivität, mit der die eigentliche Prüfung abgewickelt wird. Alle am Tag der Prüfung benötigten Informationen wie Zoom-Links für die Täuschungskontrolle und IDs zur Identifikation sollten vorab verfügbar gemacht werden. Auch die Prüfungsaufgaben sollten vorab als verschlüsseltes PDF bereitgestellt werden. Dadurch werden die Zugriffe auf die Informationen und die Aufgaben entzerrt und Lastspitzen vermieden.

Temp-Moodle unterstützt Prüfungs-Szenarien mit bis zu 400 Personen parallel. Um Probleme durch Lastspitzen zu vermeiden, sollten Prüfungen mit einer höheren Anzahl teilnehmender Personen in Kohorten aufgeteilt werden, die mit einem zeitlichen Versatz von 10 bis 15 Minuten starten.

Ausführliche Anleitungen zur Prüfungsabwicklung mit temp-Moodle erreichen Sie links über die Navigation für IT Center Help.


 Zusatzinformation

Lesen Sie hierzu: